Incentives to study in regional Australia are on now!

As part of the changes taking place in Australia regarding international students, the regional incentives to study outside Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane will started mid-November 2019.

This initiative provides for an additional Temporary Graduate visa with an extra year of post-study work rights for international students who:

  • graduate from the regional campus of a registered university or institution with a higher education or postgraduate qualification; and
  • maintain ongoing residence in a regional area while holding their first Temporary Graduate (subclass 485) visa

This means students can stay in Australia for between 3 to 5 years having finished their studies via the Temporary Graduate visa (subclass 485) Post-Study Work stream.

Remember this is a temporary visa. The length of the stay in Australia will depend on the level of the Australian study qualification successfully achieved.

  • bachelor degree (including honours): 3 years
  • masters by coursework: 3 years
  • masters by research: 4 years
  • doctoral degree: 5 year

The regional incentives starting 16th of November 2019 include:

DefinitionLocationsRegional incentives
Metropolitan AustraliaSydney, Melbourne or Brisbane – None
Regional AustraliaPerth, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast, Canberra, Newcastle/Lake Macquarie, Wollongong/Illawarra, Geelong, Hobart, Launceston, Darwin, Cairns, Townsville, and regional centres and other regional areas.– Access to the dedicated 25,000 regional places.
– Priority processing on regional visas.
– Access to the Regional Occupations List (more jobs compared to non-regional lists).
– International student studying at regional universities will be eligible to access an additional year in Australia on a post-study work visa.

One of the last changes announced by the Australian federal government was about increasing the total number of regional places to 25,000 as well as taking Perth and the Gold Coast off the major metro list, making them more attractive to international students who want work opportunities after graduating.

This is great news for University of Western Australia, Murdoch University, Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Bond University, Southern Cross University, and Griffith University as they are now considered regional education providers.

As Sofiri Education expert and Western Australia resident Frances Genenncher says “Perth is a fantastic city, although remote and time is ticking slower it offers great natural environment and a feeling of community. ?”

There is no change to the current Student visa arrangements.  This initiative simply provides an additional incentive for international students to study and live in regional Australia.

The introduction of the new regional visas in November 2019 will not impact people who already hold existing visas. Applications lodged prior to November 2019 will continue to be processed as normal. There will be no impact on the permanent residence of current permanent visa holders.

Want to study in regional Australia?

For more information about regional universities and their courses for international students, and start an application, you just have to register and choose an education expert to guide you and resolve any concerns you might have, as well as advise you for free even in your visa process.

And the best of all? Using Sofiri is completely free. If you accept an offer at a university or college, you will pay the same fees as if you were going directly to a university. You can start right now by clicking on the next button.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.